Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Glenn Foundation for Medical Research Breakthroughs in Gerontology (BIG) Award

Grants to USA Assistant Professors and Professors
for Research Projects Related to the Aging Process

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Glenn Foundation for Medical Research and American Federation for Aging Research (AFAR)

Deadline Date:

12/16/19 5:00 PM


Request a Grant Writer

Large grants to USA full-time assistant and full professors at nonprofit institutions for research projects related to aging. Funding is intended to support high-risk research studies that have significant potential for yielding transformative and translational discoveries in the biology of aging, with relevance to health-span and human aging.

Projects which build on early discoveries that show translational potential for clinically-relevant strategies, treatments and therapeutics, addressing human aging and healthspan are also considered.

Projects that focus on specific diseases or on assessment of health care strategies will receive lower priority, unless the research plan makes clear and direct connections to fundamental issues in the biology of aging and/or on the translational aspects of basic discovery to human aging and health-span.

Applications are reviewed based on the following criteria:

  •  Qualifications and research record of the applicant
  •  Quality, creativity, promise, and feasibility of the proposed research that will lead to improved understanding of basic aging processes and/or translational potential and relevance to human aging and health span.
  • Excellence of the research environment

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 165362

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

Grants totaling $300,000 ($100,000 per year for three years) will be awarded, of which a maximum of 8% may be used for indirect expenses or institutional overhead.

Term of Contract:

Three-year awards will be made in 2020. The start date of the award is July 1, 2019.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible, applicants must at the time they submit their proposal be full-time faculty members at the rank of Assistant Professor or higher. To be competitive at the Assistant Professor level, a candidate would be expected to have established R01 or equivalent funding. The BIG award is not intended to substitute for the R01 funding mechanism, but rather to provide support for novel “breakthrough” research projects in established laboratories. A strong record of independent publication beyond the postdoctoral level is a requirement. Individuals who are employees in the NIH Intramural program are not eligible.

The proposed research must be conducted at qualified nonprofit setting in the United States.

Former AFAR Research Grant awardees may apply. If you are applying for a 2020 AFAR Research Grant, you may not also apply for the 2020 Glenn Foundation for Medical Research BIG Award. Principal Investigators of the Paul F. Glenn Centers for Biology of Aging Research are not eligible to apply.

Pre-Application Information:

The deadline for the letter of intent is December 16, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. EST. No late submissions or submissions sent by regular mail will be accepted.

No late submissions or submissions sent by regular mail will be accepted.



Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

All LOIs should be submitted as PDFs to the email

Questions about eligibility and suitability of research project can be addressed to

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming